How To Blog (AKA How To Do Almost Anything)

A little while ago, I was asked for any tips on blogging. It’s not a question I get often. I guess that’s because I’m not extremely serious about my blogging. I don’t do everything that I could do to make my blog like other popular blogs. I just kind of dink around and do silly things until I come up with something that works for me.
And that’s my tip for how to blog. It’s always the way that I approach writing. I talked earlier in the week about how everything in my writing changed. That’s kind of how I approach writing now as well.
I try what I want to and see what sticks to my process. Honestly, blogs are a really expanding platform. I want to make a ‘nicer’ looking blog one day full of pictures of my stationery looking neat and tidy, but I’m not at that point right now. I’m trying to get there, but it’s not something that I will be able to do right away or right now. That’s not necessarily a bad thing though. Over time, I will keep trying to reach for my goals. If I don’t reach them or if I get distracted for a little bit, then that’s where I go. I’m not about trying to be perfect.
Perfection is a dream, but it’s not something that I will ever be able to manage. I work on trying to really improve myself, but my idea of perfect will continue to evolve as well. Chasing after a dream isn’t a bad thing.
So if you’re starting a blog or starting any other kind of project, I just want you to know that you don’t have to be perfect. Be messy, screw up, keep reaching for ‘perfect’ but never feel bad if you don’t get there. Your goal is to keep improving, not be perfect in the beginning.

