Book Review: The Crossroads of Should and Must

The Crossroads of Should and Must by Elle Luna is a book about so much. It came to me right at the right moment, even though I didn’t read it until just a little while ago. It really spoke about the way that I dealt with my life at that moment. It resonates with me a way that I love and it has shaped the way that I am looking at my work space and my life in recent weeks.

I love this book. I love it for many reasons. It’s not just that the message it had spoken to me. The way that it was set up and the tone that it has is just wonderful for someone that is at a crossroads in their life. And not only did it appeal to the moment of graduation, but it also spoke of my creative side. There is a sticker on my copy on the cover. It’s a quote from Elizabeth Gilbert. It was that reason that I looked closer at the book. Elizabeth Gilbert is the author of Eat, Pray, Love and has written more books since then, one of which (Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear) spoke to me in the same way that Luna’s book did.Both books talk about taking your life into your hands and choosing the side of what you need to do for yourself and your creative wellbeing. Luna’s book is more grounded than Gilbert’s, but the two of them share that message. I lived most of my life under a cloud of academia that shadowed everything else that I tried to do. When I decided on an English degree, my extended family seemed confused. My parents were

Both books talk about taking your life into your hands and choosing the side of what you need to do for yourself and your creative wellbeing. Luna’s book is more grounded than Gilbert’s, but the two of them share that message. I lived most of my life under a cloud of academia that shadowed everything else that I tried to do. When I decided on an English degree, my extended family seemed confused. My parents were supportive but just as concerned about how I would move forward. Pursuing an English degree (especially with a focus in Creative Writing) is really not a good move by all sorts of standards.But it is and was a great move on my part.

But it is and was a great move on my part.And that’s the point of this particular book. It’s about taking a good long look at the life that you are living and turning your decisions into ones that are for you. They are what you must do and what you have to do. My English degree was my must. My freelancing career is my must. This blog is a must. My decisions are turning more and more towards a must. My extended family

And that’s the point of this particular book. It’s about taking a good long look at the life that you are living and turning your decisions into ones that are for you. They are what you must do and what you have to do. My English degree was my must. My freelancing career is my must. This blog is a must. My decisions are turning more and more towards a must. My extended family has tried to input into my life, but those are the shoulds. Some shoulds don’t come from family. They come from societal standards. They come from friends. They come from loved ones and partners.We all face are shoulds. We all try to do the best we can for ourselves. It’s not easy to pick the side of must. It’s not easy to shake off all those learned shoulds that we picked up when we were kids. Carving out

We all face our shoulds. We all try to do the best we can for ourselves. It’s not easy to pick the side of must. It’s not easy to shake off all those learned shoulds that we picked up when we were kids. Carving out space, time-wise and physically, is hard. It’s hard to find a place to call your own, even when you’re on your own.

This book is a book of advice, but it is also a guidebook. It is a way of trying to find your way through the present moment to the next moment, while still on the path of must. It’s not comprehensive because musts are different for every single person. But it outlines what you can do. It gives you space to create your life and choose your must. It tells you where to start.In all my years of school and writing, knowing where to start has always been the hardest part. For years, I had been relying on teachers and professors to tell me where to start. I’ve learned lessons from them about where we start and where we go. When you’re left on your own and have to start, it’s terrifying. I wanted to pick my must. I have been trying to pick my must

In all my years of school and writing, knowing where to start has always been the hardest part. For years, I had been relying on teachers and professors to tell me where to start. I’ve learned lessons from them about where we start and where we go. When you’re left on your own and have to start, it’s terrifying. I wanted to pick my must. I have been trying to pick my must every day. This book is giving me advice so that I can wake up and choose must more easily every day.

This book is wonderful. I would give this to anyone in my life when they were at a crossroad. I would give this to my cousins that are starting to get old enough to start college. I would give this to my partner as they approach their own graduation next year. I would give this to my parents who are just starting to consider retirement.It’s a great book for everyone. The light voice, the aesthetic of messiness on every page, all of the writing comes together in a way that I adore. It’s the kind of book I needed and that I will need again. This book will on my bookshelf as long as I am struggling to chase my must. And that could be for the rest of my life.

It’s a great book for everyone. The light voice, the aesthetic of messiness on every page, all of the writing comes together in a way that I adore. It’s the kind of book I needed and that I will need again. This book will on my bookshelf as long as I am struggling to chase my must. And that could be for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

