Creating My Masterpiece

I’m guessing that a lot of people that read my blog aren’t all that interested in Homestuck. I’ve mentioned it here and there. Today is the 8th anniversary of Homestuck beginning. Homestuck ended last year. Seven years of content create a beautiful work that I really loved.

I have my problems with it. But I have problems with every story that I read. It’s not a new problem. I pick apart the pieces of the story until it makes me unhappy and then I have to stop.

So when I consider my future career as a writer, I have to think about the fact that I should be aiming for something. I know that people out there are happy to create, but I try to find goals to set for myself. I want to create a masterpiece of some kind. I want to make a long story with a complicated plot that makes other people happy to have to pick apart until they’re unhappy too.

It’s a little bit of a weird dream to have, but that’s what I’ve been aiming for. I’m getting some smaller goals in order so that I’m not just sounding silly and working on project after project.

So my goals are about getting me ready for that bigger project.

  • Writing short stories. While you don’t have to start short, getting a handle on this part of the process can really help for later on. If you can make a snapshot of a story, then you can make a better, longer story later on.
  • Writing novels. This has always been a dream of mine. It’s something that I really want to do and I want to do it well, so I’m trying to find a sort of balance in the way that I handle this giant task. It takes a lot more effort than I think it does. I’m trying to get over my fear of finishing work.
  • Writing stories. This is different than short stories or novels. This goal really isn’t about getting bogged down in the way that we sometimes define stories. This is about taking a story and saying that I will write it or help form it into a complete form. This is so much different than the other goals because I don’t care about the constraints of the project. If it takes a million words to get the story down, then that’s what it takes. If it takes a paragraph, then that’s what it takes.
  • Share. This has always been a problem of mine, but I don’t think a lot of people know about it. I don’t share my stories with many people. I started to get over this problem when I had to give my stories to people in my English classes. I didn’t mind that they had my stories. They gave me good feedback for the most part. I’m trying to find the people that I can do that with in my life right now.
  • Stop giving up. This applies to anything. If I want to knit a hat, then I’m going to knit it. If I say that I’m going to edit the story that I wrote last year, then I’m going to do that. I spend a lot of my time giving up on ideas that I have; I want to stop that.

Those are just some of my goals. There are other goals that I have of course that are smaller and break down this list even further, but if I was going to share all of that information with you, then I might as well just invite strangers into my room and let them watch me write. And that just doesn’t sound like fun.

But today is still special in my heart. Homestuck is special to me, despite the time that I have spent away from it. So would it be a good idea to sit down and maybe try rereading it?

Leave a Reply

