Writing What You Know

There’s a long held belief for writers that you should write what you know. It’s the idea that a writer should be taking everything that you know and turning it into stories. Some people think of this as writing about the reality of the situation. You should be writing about real people in real places and thinking about the people that you see around you.The truth is that what you know is not limited to reality. You may have had several friends that had an argument. If you take that and blow it up several times larger then you have countries fighting for control of a place. If you have a dog, then a few steps further, you have how a hellhound acts. The world around us is the key to writing something terribly amazing.

The truth is that what you know is not limited to reality. You may have had several friends that had an argument. If you take that and blow it up several times larger then you have countries fighting for control of a place. If you have a dog, then a few steps further, you have how a hellhound acts. The world around us is the key to writing something terribly amazing.You’ll take the things you love, the stories you already know, and the people around you to create stories that you won’t likely forget.

You’ll take the things you love, the stories you already know, and the people around you to create stories that you won’t likely forget.

While I pride myself on saying that I don’t put my friends or myself into my stories, there are pieces of everything in the things that I write. There’s worlds built out of the tiniest details that I notice when I’m wandering around. There are characters built out of my worst fears and my favorite things in life. Everything is constantly being reworked in my mind. Everything that I know and everything that I want to know are put together in the same place.When I make up rules about a place, then I make them up based on the other kinds of stories that I’ve read and the rules of reality. It’s hard to make everything up from scratch. In fact, it’s often impossible. There’s a lot that I want to be able to do, but people’s rules that came before are how I’m able to really able to define the rules.

When I make up rules about a place, then I make them up based on the other kinds of stories that I’ve read and the rules of reality. It’s hard to make everything up from scratch. In fact, it’s often impossible. There’s a lot that I want to be able to do, but people’s rules that came before are how I’m able to really able to define the rules.Writing what you know is about using a kernel of truth and bending it to show a greater truth.

Writing what you know is about using a kernel of truth and bending it to show a greater truth.

Leave a Reply

