Too Many Irons in the Fire

There are times that people tell me that I’m doing too many things at once. This usually pertains to how I’m scheduling my creative life. I can talk about one story, then jump to the next three that I’m working on. Some people might say that at times I have too many irons in the fire.But I would argue that I’m doing just fine. I have the files to help me track each story or project that I’m working on and I take breaks between each project when I’m working on them in the same day. It’s not a crime to split up my time between different projects.

But I would argue that I’m doing just fine. I have the files to help me track each story or project that I’m working on and I take breaks between each project when I’m working on them in the same day. It’s not a crime to split up my time between different projects.

It could be argued that if I spent all of my writing time on one project, then I would get it done faster. That might be true, but it could also be very untrue. If I focus too hard on a project for too long, I’ll get bogged down and lost in the inevitable writer’s block that I will get. It’s hard a bad thing to be wrapped up in several projects. Bouncing from one to another keeps my brain working at a good pace.

And if the projects are all different enough, then it’s easy to keep the ideas going. Metal Wing is urban sci-fi. The City is sci-fi/fantasy with a very specific plot that I’m revisiting from an old story. Starry Eyes is sci-fi but actually out in space; it’s a bit of a space opera. The Land of The Lotus is sci-fi/fantasy mix that involves a file for how the world works and the laws of magic.

While it’s obvious that sci-fi and fantasy are my favorite subjects to write about, I am keeping the plots and mechanics of each world for each story separate from the other. This makes sure that the stories don’t mingle and that I can keep jumping from story to story.

I just like having that many stories so that I can keep myself moving in the right direction. Four stories might be too much for some people, but it might not be enough for others. It will all depend on the kind of person that you are.

Leave a Reply

