Different Workspaces

I don’t mind working in strange places. I was often found working on couches in lounges in my dorm, curled up in the strangest of positions. But now that I’m done with college and doing actually work, it’s a slightly different story. I needed to find the best ways to make myself productive, but even doing that is a little bit more difficult than I originally thought.

While a couch worked for studying and reading books that were needed for class, it doesn’t always work for long periods of research and writing that I have to do for work. So what’s a girl to do?

I find new places to work all the time. Sometimes I’m working on the bed or the kitchen table or working at the desk on the other computer. And I try to make sure that I’m never in the same place all the time. It’s okay to never be in the same place. Working in all sorts of different places keeps my brain working.

In a way, this is actually a benefit. I do miss having a dedicated desk that I could work at, but that doesn’t mean I can’t work at tons of different spaces. Everything is strange when you don’t have a place that you can return with regularity.

Having a dedicated space or having no dedicated space doesn’t really matter. It just matters what you need as a writer or an artist or worker. I’ve found that storing all of my work stuff in easy to access boxes really makes all the difference. Even if I’m not working in the same spot, I know where to find all the stuff that I use.

But no matter how someone approaches their workspace, keeping it how you need it is going to make all the difference in the world. Keep yourself in mind when you design your workspace. Don’t follow the trends that other people have tried to put down. That won’t guarantee you a space that will work for you, but keep yourself in mind. Make sure that everything you do is for you and not for someone else.

Leave a Reply

