Finding Home

A challenge of college and life now outside of college is understanding where home is. It might be different for someone like me that went to school out of state, but it has been something that I’ve been struggling with lately. I’m not sure where exactly home is. I want to find a place that I can call home, but where is that?

It could be my home in Colorado where I grew up, but even that doesn’t feel exactly like home. It’s almost where my significant other is, but even that doesn’t feel exactly right. Home isn’t a place that I can identify anymore. It’s just an idea that floats out there in the universe. I remember the days when home was definitely the place where my parents lived. I remember the feeling of getting back to the house after school and it just felt great.

Right now, I don’t get that feeling. But I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing. I think that might be a call from my heart that I need to go out and find the place that is home. It won’t be something that happens right now, but it will come.
There will be a lot of steps between here and there, and I won’t always be happy about the steps that I am taking. But it will be okay. I will find a way to be happy and make a place for myself.

It will be a struggle. It will be the most rewarding challenge that I take on in my lifetime. It’ll be amazing. It’ll be terrible. But it will lead me to a home that I can actually call my own in the end.

Leave a Reply

