NaNoWriMo 2016

Ah yes.  November rolls around soon.  It’s a great month.  There’s Thanksgiving, my birthday, a three-day weekend, and it’s just an all around great month.  I love it so much.

But by far, my favorite part of November is National Novel Writing Month.  Writing a 50,000 word novel in a month is a giant challenge, but it’s so rewarding once you get to the end of it.

But I’ve been doing NaNoWriMo since 2010.  This will be the sixth year that I’ve done it.  I’ve won every year (except last year because of school) and I’ve decided that I need a little bit of a change in order to get myself motivated and ready for the coming month.

There’s another well-known challenge called The 100 Theme Challenge.  There are several different versions of it that float around the internet.  I decided to take it and incorporate it into my NaNoWriMo experience.  I had a rough draft already begun using the challenge, so now I’m going to go through the story, challenge by challenge, and rewrite each scene, paying special attention to the theme that inspired me in the first place.

This NaNoWriMo will require a little extra work, but it will be a much more exciting month of writing for me.  I’m ready, though.  I’ve got a notebook, a folder full of paper, my notecards, and several ways of tracking my progress at the ready.

Good luck to everyone participating!  Good luck to the loved ones of everyone participating!

Leave a Reply

