The Most Helpful Writing App

In my never ending struggle with keeping myself working, I often find that there are tools along the way that I’ll stumble across.  Some of them are helpful for a long time, and others are only helpful for a few problems or when dealing with a specific part of my life.  The only way I’ll figure out if they help is to try them.

Earlier this week, I stumbled upon a new one.  The Most Dangerous Writing App is a website that lets you pick a period of time (from 3:00 to an hour) that you want to write during.  Once you’ve hit start and start typing, the goal is to not stop.

While for some people, this website is terrifying and impossible.  The fact that this website deletes your entire work if you stop for more than five seconds is daunting.  I mean, even for me it was daunting.

I’ve been using the app for a couple of days now and the only thing that I’ve realized is that it makes me stop trying to edit.  I can’t go back and fix that typo or add the missed comma or delete the extra space between some words.  I have to keep going.  I have to keep writing until I reach the time limit.  And luckily, I find that this great motivation.

I’ve only used it on the lowest time settings (3:00 & 5:00), but it has been great.  I’ve started figuring out how much I can hammer out while I’m sitting there if I’m actively working on writing.  I can actually see how productive I can be versus how productive I normally am.

And while I love this app, I really do think that I might have to only use it every now and then.  While the kick in the pants was what I needed today, I think I can survive on doing mini sprints of my own (in the nature of NaNoWordSprints; someone directs for a couple of hours during WriMo months and leads sprints that can range from 5 minutes to 30 minutes) to keep myself productive.

Maybe some of you out there will enjoy the exercise and maybe some of you will hate it.  But regardless, I urge you to try it once.  Just see what it’s like.  Then move on from there.

Leave a Reply

