My Version of Interesting Might Be Your Version of Boring

When you’re an editor, there’s a lot of ‘boring’ subject matter that you start having to look through to make sure that you’re getting the right kind of words in the right places.  There are tons of reference books about this because there are so many different style guides that are followed.

There’s AP, MLA, CMS, and many more.

So what kind of book am I talking about this week?

Well I’m talking about these stylebooks.  I recently purchased the AP Stylebook to have on hand while I work on some editing that specifically follows that style guide.  But I’m also looking into buying the Chicago Manual of Style since that’ll be the one that I’ll work out of more than anything, probably.

I know that some people will think that I’m crazy for buying the physical books.  But there’s something nice about having a book at your fingertips.  It also means that if I decide to go outside and work on something that I can print, I can make physical marks and have a reference right there with me so that I can quickly look up words regardless of my physical location.

How often will that happen?  Probably not that often, but I like having my options open.

So these very boring books are going to become some of my most prized possessions.  And that goes to show you how much I really want to be working as an editor.  I want to live a life where I’m surrounded by reference books as I work on putting out the best possible work that I can.  There’s something very refreshing about getting something to look so correct and nice.  If that means spending many hours of my life looking up words that I think might be hyphenated, then that’s that.

Leave a Reply

