Some Poetry About Language

For this week, I’m going to suggest something a little different.  As an English major, I read a lot of books for classes.  Sometimes I hate those books and much more often than not, I find something to cling to in a book that keeps me coming back.

One such book is a collection of poems: Chord: poems by Rick Barot.

The collection has all sorts of great works in it, but the overarching themes of the book stem from the way that we use language to deal with the world around us.  The poem “Tarp” is absolutely fabulous.

I’ve had the chance now to hear Rick Barot speak a couple of times: once for a class I was in over Skype, another time he came to my college campus to do a reading and answer a few of our questions.

The way that Barot takes so many images and inserts them into a small space where they blend together is absolutely beautiful.  While rereading his collection, I couldn’t help but think about the way that I make connections with the objects around me.  A certain smell or a certain image might bring up a certain though in your head.  Those trailing thoughts are all combined in these poems to get at how language works for us.

The entire book is just fabulous.  I would highly recommend this to anyone that wanted to try reading some poetry.

Leave a Reply

