Creating a Podcast

It’s not something that I’m likely going to publish. It is something that I would want to have some practice with before I start putting myself out there. But this is one of the coolest, weirdest things I’ve gotten to do for a class.

In school, I study both creative writing and technical writing. That means that I spend a lot of time trying to be creative when I should be focusing on grammar, and I spend a lot of time focusing on grammar when I should be trying to be creative. Which side is which? Well that’s the mystery that I find myself trying to puzzle out all the time.

But podcasting is a wonderful marriage of the two different schools of thought. Podcasts are ways of sharing information with someone. It’s something that you can really get into and get lost in. There’s a lot of story in podcasts. The narrative is something that we experience only with our ears, but sometimes there’s nothing else that we can do while we’re listening to a cool narrative and discovering things about the world that we wouldn’t have stumbled onto in any other way.

My podcast is specifically about anxiety and traveling, and it’s been really fun to listen through to the other things that my friends said when I was interviewing them. The only major problem right now is that I have an hour of audio and I need to record voice over and cut everything down to about 15-20 minutes instead of an hour.

It’s not impossible. There’s a lot of tangents that my friends and I went on while we were talking. That’s the danger of talking to friends when you’re doing something like a podcast. Instead of talking about anxiety, we just started telling stories.

But that works.

In a way, I wanted my podcast to humanize parts of anxiety and inform people that there’s never just the anxiety.  People are people, no matter what’s going on.  And I think I’m doing a good job of that as I continue to go through and make all the edits and changes that I need to.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

